North Carolina Window Tint Law [Updated 2021]

The North Carolina window tint law was brought into existence in the year 2001. From the very beginning, the state of North Carolina has been specific about and strict about their laws regarding the window tint and if any individual decides to disobey the laws the individual has to face the particular consequences.

Similarly, if an individual does any of the following commits a Class 3 misdemeanor:

  1. Applies tinting to the window of a vehicle that is subject to a safety inspection in this state and the resulting tinted window does not meet the window tinting restrictions set.
  2. Drives on a highway or a public vehicular area a vehicle that has a window that does not meet the window tinting restrictions set in this section. 

This was just the gist of what you will be coming across in this article. We have done our best in giving you all the information you need to know before and after you get your car windows tinted.

Check out other States Window Tint Law :-

What does VLT mean according to North Carolina state law

VLT(Visible Light Transmission) is the light percentage allowed by the window tint film to travel through your car windows. In North Carolina, there are different legal allowable terms when it comes to window tinting.

In North Carolina, the amount of light allowed to pass through your film and also glass varies for Passenger vehicles and Multi-purpose vehicles. For the sake of your better understanding we have broken it down to:

The higher the VLT the more amounts of light will be allowed to pass through your window tint film. For instance, a 60% tint will allow only 60% of the light to pass through whereas a 5% tint will allow only 5% of the light to pass through.

Legal Tint Limit in North Carolina

North Carolina Tint Law – For Passenger Vehicles

  • Front Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line or top 5 inches.
  • Front seat side windows: up to 35% tint darkness allowed
  • Back seat side windows: up to 35% tint darkness allowed
  • Rear window: up to 35% tint darkness allowed

North Carolina tint law- For Multi-purpose vehicles

  • Front Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line or top 5 inches.
  • Front seat side windows: up to 35% tint darkness allowed
  • Back seat side windows: Any tint darkness can be used
  • Rear window: Any tint darkness can be used

Window Tint reflection in North Carolina 

Tint reflection for Passenger Vehicles: 

  • Front side windows: must not be more than 20% reflective.
  • Backside windows: must not be more than 20% reflective.

Tint reflection for Multi-purpose Vehicles:

  • Front side windows: must not be more than 20% reflective.
  • Backside windows: must not be more than 20% reflective.                   

Medical Exceptions 

Certain individuals that are sensitive to sunlight who need darker window tinting can apply for a medical exception permit with the N.C. division of motor vehicles. 

  • Permits are valid for up to 5 years.
  • An individual may have no more than two medical permits at the same time.
  • Permits are not interchangeable and must be carried in the vehicle to which it applies.
  • A medical exceptions sticker must be displayed in the lower left-hand corner of the rear window. Failure to properly display the sticker is punishable by a $200 fine. 

Other North Carolina Window Tint Law Rules And Regulations

Besides the basic laws in North Carolina, there are other rules and regulations as well that have to be adhered to when it comes to window tinting. You must make sure you take a good look at these following rules and then take the next step. 

  • Do I need to have side mirrors in North Carolina? If the back window is tinted then you need to have dual side mirrors.
  • Is colored tint illegal in North Carolina? Except red, amber, and blue the other colors are allowed.
  • What are the window tint certification rules in North Carolina? The tint film manufacturers do not have to certify the film they sell in North Carolina.
  • Do I need a certified sticker from the company installing my window tint in North Carolina? There is no sticker required to identify legal tinting.

Also Read :-

Leave a Comment